Diagnosis, phenotype, and prevalence of polycystic ovary syndrome

Academic Article


  • New diagnostic criteria for polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS) suggested three main phenotypes: classic (hyperandrogenism and anovulation), ovulatory, and normoandrogenic. However, it is unclear whether the normoandrogenic phenotype actually represents PCOS. Overall, 6% to 8% of reproductive-aged women suffer from PCOS, making this disorder one of the most common endocrine abnormalities. © 2006 American Society for Reproductive Medicine.
  • Authors

    Published In

    Digital Object Identifier (doi)

    Author List

  • Carmina E; Azziz R
  • Start Page

  • S7
  • Volume

  • 86
  • Issue

  • SUPPL. 1